Jason Ajemian - Who Cares How Long You Sink
[Lucky Kitchen, www.luckykitchen.com]

Music has an awesome power that even in its laziness and tranquility; it exudes this awesome, life-affirming power. Stop me now, if I'm starting to sound like one of those TV spinsters, but it's the truth. Having heard a piece of music that is breathtaking, I immediately stop whatever it is that I'm doing and take note. I'm all ears. It's just me and the sounds coming out of those speakers. Jason Ajemian's new record is one such release. Compositions he pens are works of real beauty. All pieces are tender. They move slowly and deliberately. This is music that slowly [very slowly] creeps up on you. In a similar fashion as Polwechsel, Jason Ajemian proves that listening to music that is at a standstill is an art form. Jason Ajemian's gentle plucking on his bass meshed together with Jeff Parker's delicate guitar strumming make for some of the warmest moments. Don't think that I'm playing favouritism here as all players' work on the record is stunning. Whether it's Kyle Bruckman's gentle oboe sounds or Matt Bauder's restrained work on the tenor sax or even the subdued trumpet calls of Ernst Karel, all musicians know they're batting for the same team. Considering these are all Jason Ajemian compositions, there seems to be little margin for improvisation or deviation from the master plan. As for the music, it seems the ensemble is performing in some sort of a time capsule. Their understanding of timing, timber and musical shifts are such that questioning anything here [especially for a non-musician, such as myself] is worthless. Take the plunge. Stay still. Breathe easy. 'Who Cares How Long You Sink'!

Tom Sekowski

<<< poprzednia recenzja  


+ Yunx - In The Heat Of The Night
+ Wolfram - Thinking Dust
+ Wieloryb - Voice Tract – Droga głosu
+ The White Stripes - Get Behind Me Satan
+ Tocotronic - Pure Vernunft Darf Niemals Siegen
+ John Tejada & Arian Leviste - Back To Basics
+ Repair - Convenient Arrangements
+ Portable - Version
+ Savas Pascalidis - Hounted House
+ Northern Lite - Temper
+ Monne Automne - Teco
+ Meat Beat Manifesto - At The Center
+ Michael Manning - Public
+ Kosmetyki Mrs Pinki - KMP Vol. 1
+ Korsakow - Ears
+ Kemi & Amox - Poison Ivy
+ Go-To-Cat-Man-Do
+ Ferenc - Fraximal
+ Echo Depth Finders - The City Of The Dolls
+ Jack Dangers - Loudness Clarifies/Electronic Music From Tapelab
+ Jack Dangers - Forbidden Planet Explored
+ Crossover - Cryptic And Dire Sallow Faced Hoods Blast Off Oblivion
+ Bus - Feelin' Dank
+ Bronnt Industries Kapital - Virtute Et Industria
+ Kevin Blechdom - Eat My Heart Out
+ Joey Beltram - Live At Womb 02
+ Ammon Contact - New Birth
+ Cisco Ferreira AKA The Advent - T.R.I.N.I.T.Y.
+ 15 Minut Projekt - Live In Punkt + Suplement
+ Ot-Vinta - Darma ja najwsia cybuli
+ Bożyczi - Kotyłasia, oj jasna zoria z nieba
+ Slough Feg - Atavism
+ Das Scheit - Superbitch
+ Elwing - War
+ Six Organs of Admittance - The Manifestation
+ Cul De Sac & Damo Suzuki - Abhayamudra
+ Erg - Nefryt vs Malachit
+ Tatsuya Yoshida / Kazuhisa Uchihashi - Hercules Icy Club
+ Faun Fables - Mother Twilight

- - - - - - - - -

>> Jason Ajemian - Who Cares How Long You Sink
+ Various Artists - Melodic Today
+ William Basinski - Melancholia; Water Music; Water Music II
+ Borah Bergman / Lol Coxhill / Paul Hession - Acts of Love
+ Mise En Abyme - Jesquibel; Brad Adkins - Big Red
+ Alvin Curran - Toto Angelica
+ Faruq Z. Bey with Northwoods Improvisers - Ashirai Pattern; Azuar' Live at CMU Park Library Auditorium; Griot Galaxy - Live at the D.I.A.
+ Alex Keller / Meri von Kleinsmid - Searching for the inverse square; Meri von Kleinsmid; Ex Vivo
+ Jacen Solo - Virgo; Michael Manning- Public; Yunx - In the Heat of the Night
+ Rainer Lericolais - Reader's Digest; Musique du film Les Enfants Gates
+ The Magic Carpathians Project - Sonic Suicide - Ethnoise # 1
+ Dufus- Ball of Design; Dub Trio - Exploring the Dangers of
+ Maximo Park - A Certain Trigger
+ Anthony Curtis - Book of the Key
+ Sophie Agnel / Olivier Benoit - Rip-Stop
+ Seht - Application Antarctica Download Form; Michel Banabila - Hilarious Expedition; Normal Music - Acid Takes