Savvas Ysatis + Taylor Deupree
The Sleeping Morning


  Take one Greek musician - Savvas Ysatis - take another American musician/producer - Taylor Deupree. Put the two in a recording studio in New York state. Now, give the duo lots of grappa and watch the sparks fly. Both musicians have worked previously as SETI, Arc and Futique. Ysatis went on to record for Tresor label, while Deupree founded the 12K imprint. Both guys play a multitude of instruments - autoharp, acoustic guitar, mallets, computers, glockenspiel, and percussion. Everything was directly recorded to multi-track and a mutual decision was reached to use the most minimal amount of editing afterwards. Key to the exercise is finding a true feel for the room where these sounds were put down to tape. What results is warm music that is lush [though never soaked in dripping sugar], piercing [though not loud], direct [though discreet] and most of all thought-provoking. Austere sounds permeate much of this EP, though there is a lot more to it than just sadness. "The Youthful Sea" is simply a pop tune - with a processed guitar and hushed beats - that features Ysatis on barren vocals. Otherwise, the testy sounds on "The Sleeping Morning" see a duo that is getting acquainted after a long separation. Consider this a reunion of long-lost set of very different twins. Warm, rich in imagery and wildly stimulating.

  - Tom Sekowski

<<< poprzednia recenzja następna recenzja >>>


+ USK - Kommt Raus
+ Tsurubami - Tenrin
+ Harold Nono - To The River Lounge
+ Satanicpornocultshop - Tukasan No Ohanasan
+ Greg Wilson's 2020:Vision
+ Polder - Poldermodel
+ Chris Liebing - Selected Remixes Of The Last 10 Years
+ Dousk - Kind Of Human
+ Bella - No One Will Know

- - - - - - - - -

+ Various Artists - Jamaica to Toronto: Soul, Funk & Reggae 1967 - 1974 / Various Artists - Summer Records Anthology: 1974 - 1988 / Jackie Mittoo - Wishbone / Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy - Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy
+ The Rational Academy - A Heart Against Your Own
>> Savvas Ysatis + Taylor Deupree - The Sleeping Morning
+ Hank Roberts - Green
+ Guy Gelem - Works
+ Chris McGregor's Brotherhood of Breath - Eclipse at Dawn
+ Ab Baars Trio & Ken Vandermark - Goofy June Bug
+ Tomasz Bednarczyk - Summer Feelings
+ Bobby Few - Lights and Shadows
+ Lee Everton - Inner Exile
+ Russ Lossing / John Hebert - Line Up
+ Basement Research - Live in Münster