Chris McGregor's Brotherhood of Breath
Eclipse at Dawn

[Cuneiform Records,]

Cuneiform Records continues its journey to uncover long-lost recordings of note. Their third in a series of Brotherhood of Breath re-issues sees them dig back in time to 1971. The place was Berlin and the occasion was the Berliner Jazztage.  The eleven-piece strong band was still led by pianist/arranger/composer Chris McGregor. The band was split between British musicians and those who emigrated few years prior from South Africa [former Blue Notes - saxophonist Dudu Pukwana, percussionist Louis Moholo, bassist Harry Miller and of course, McGregor on piano]. Rest of the band included saxophonists Mike Osborne, Alan Skidmore and Gary Windo, trombone players Nick Evans and Malcolm Griffiths and trumpeters Harry Beckett and Marc Charig. First thing that comes across is just how tight this unit was. When you listen to pieces like "Restless" and "Do It", all you hear is wall to wall, call and response cries. The trombones work in unison with the saxophones, while the trumpets walk their own path. Everyone is screaming with enormous passion, but yet there's complete coherence in the music. Save for a few, all too brief passages, McGregor's cluster piano analogies are nearly always drowned out by the brass section. Miller is especially gifted at walking a fine trajectory of melodicism and sheer power on his bass, while Moholo is an absolute force to be reckoned with. Sheer power, absolute commitment and a great bliss of joy, "Eclipse at Dawn" is a crucial document of one of the greatest big band ensembles of the 70s.

  - Tom Sekowski

<<< poprzednia recenzja następna recenzja >>>


+ USK - Kommt Raus
+ Tsurubami - Tenrin
+ Harold Nono - To The River Lounge
+ Satanicpornocultshop - Tukasan No Ohanasan
+ Greg Wilson's 2020:Vision
+ Polder - Poldermodel
+ Chris Liebing - Selected Remixes Of The Last 10 Years
+ Dousk - Kind Of Human
+ Bella - No One Will Know

- - - - - - - - -

+ Various Artists - Jamaica to Toronto: Soul, Funk & Reggae 1967 - 1974 / Various Artists - Summer Records Anthology: 1974 - 1988 / Jackie Mittoo - Wishbone / Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy - Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy
+ The Rational Academy - A Heart Against Your Own
+ Savvas Ysatis + Taylor Deupree - The Sleeping Morning
+ Hank Roberts - Green
+ Guy Gelem - Works
>> Chris McGregor's Brotherhood of Breath - Eclipse at Dawn
+ Ab Baars Trio & Ken Vandermark - Goofy June Bug
+ Tomasz Bednarczyk - Summer Feelings
+ Bobby Few - Lights and Shadows
+ Lee Everton - Inner Exile
+ Russ Lossing / John Hebert - Line Up
+ Basement Research - Live in Münster